Louisiana Concealed Carry Laws Summary

Louisiana Gun Laws

  Open Carry: Lawful
  Duty to Notify Law Enforcement: Required by law to notify the officer upon official contact or when ID requested
  State Parks: Concealed Carry is legal in accordance with state laws that regulate the right to carry
  Restaurants Serving Alcohol: No specific restriction
  Firearms at Colleges: Concealed guns on campus prohibited by law.
  Firearms at K-12 Schools: Louisiana permittee may have a loaded handgun in the vehicle only.
  Church Carry: Churches act like any other private property and may restrict
on a church by church basis
  Hotels: No legal restriction - Reference article on page 67
  Secure Storage Requirements: None
  Magazine Capacity Limitations: No restrictions
  Suppressor Ownership: Lawful
  Vehicle Possession Without Recognized Permit: Firearms may be carried openly or in the glove compartment, console, or trunk of vehicle.
  Firearm Law Uniformity: Preemption law in place but some laws pre-1985 are grandfathered in.
  Permit Training Requirements: Applicant must complete a course. Generally runs 8 hours and must include live fire.link
  Non-Resident Permits: Only military personnel qualify for non-resident permits.
  Constitutional Carry: Yes, effective July 4th, 2024
  Duty to Retreat: No Duty to Retreat
  Places Off Limits: A law enforcement office, station, or building;
A detention facility, prison, or jail;
A courthouse or courtroom, provided that a judge may carry such a weapon in his own courtroom;
A polling place;
A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision;
The state capitol building;
Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the firearm is encased for shipment, for the purpose of checking such firearm as lawful baggage;
Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship; See RS 40:1379.3 (The entity which owns the business or has authority over the administration of a church, synagogue, or mosque shall have the authority to authorize any person issued a valid concealed handgun permit as authorized by the provisions of this Section to carry a concealed handgun in the church, synagogue, or mosque.)
A parade or demonstration for which a permit is issued by a governmental entity;
Any portion of the permitted area of an establishment that has been granted a Class A-General retail permit, as defined in Part II of Chapter 1 or Part II of Chapter 2 of Title 26 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.
Any school "firearm free zone" as defined in R.S. 14:95.6.
  State Contact Info: Louisiana State Police / CHP
PO Box 66375
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
  Permit Issuing Authority: Louisiana State Police
  Length of Permit Validity: 5 years or lifetime
  Permit Application Process: Take a qualifying class and then submit the application with the appropriate fee. link
  Resident Permit Reciprocity:
While Concealed Carry Inc strives to maintain legal reference information updated on this website; you as the reader and gun owner are responsible to do any and all necessary research and consult with a local attorney before making any decisions. Concealed Carry Inc is not liable for any misinformation, inaccuracies, or actions taken based on this information. We are not attorneys and this information is not legal advice. If you see any information you feel is outdated or incorrect please contact us.

Legal Summaries for all 50 states are available free on our site and mobile app.