Below are answers to the most common questions we get about obtaining a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit (CCW)
Do I have to be a Louisiana resident to Apply?
Yes, only residents of Louisiana may apply for the permit. If you have recently moved here you may take our class right away but may not apply for the permit until you have your Louisiana state ID.
Do I have to be a US Citizen to apply?
As long as you have a Louisiana state ID or Louisiana drivers license you can apply.
How long do I have to live in Louisiana to qualify as a resident?
Any period of time is acceptable.
What is the Application Fee for the Louisiana permit?
The standard cost is $125 for a five year permit. You can also pay $500 for a lifetime permit that will not require renewal every five years. Anyone ages 65+ gets a 50% discount on the application fee. Veterans also get 50% discounts (must include copy of DD-214 for proof). To clarify, someone with a lifetime permit must still take a course every five years regardless.
What is the Renewal Fee?
The renewal for the permit is the same $125 and the same discounts apply.
Will I be notified when my permit is going to expire?
The state generally does send out renewal notices… but it isn’t uncommon for these to come a little later than they should or not come at all.
How long does it take to get the permit after my application has been submitted?
The state says you should allow for up to 120 days to get your permit. Renewals are generally processed within 90 days. Our experience is that 90 days is standard for all applications.
What is the complete process to obtain the permit?
Here you can read our guide: Process overview for obtaining a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit
Are Permit Holders Required to Notify Law Enforcement When Confronted?
Yes. See LRS 40:1379.3 for more details.
Can Private Property Owners Prohibit Firearm on Their Property?
They can prohibit firearms on their property and it does have the force of law but they cannot prohibit you from lawfully possessing and storing your firearm(s) in a locked vehicle on their property.
What is Your Refund Policy? What If I Can’t Attend the Class I Signed Up For?
We will refund students when unable to attend a class they have prepaid for. We ask for prepayment only to have a reliable count of how many students are coming. This has become necessary because we fill most of our classes to capacity. Our full refund policy can be see here.
How long is the class?
The class is scheduled for a nine hour period which includes a one hour break for lunch so there are eight hours of instruction.
Do I have to shoot a firearm for this class?
Yes, the live fire of a firearm is required to apply for this permit.
What forms of payment will LouisianaFirearmTraining.com accept for the course?
Cash, check, or credit card (Visa, or MasterCard). We prefer if you prepay online but should you feel uncomfortable you can call us to make other arrangements. (Phone number above)